Killer crab cakes

Standard

crab cakes.jpg

This was going to be our first entertaining session at our new home. And therefore it had to be something special. I used the new cookbook which I had recently bought from Costco, Soups, Salads and Starters from William Sonoma. It had gorgeous pictures and was well organised. So, I was browsing for some recipes in the book when I found a recipe for crab cakes. I also decided to do a potato leek soup from finedinings.com. For the main dish we decided on shrimp biryani. We had first seen the recipe for shrimp biryani on malayalamanoroma but when I looked for it on that day it seemed like they had removed it from their website. Luckily I had
a printed out copy of the same recipe. I will post that recipe later.

For now, here is the recipe for crab cakes
Unsalted butter 2tablespoon
Green onions 6 (thinly sliced including tender green tops)
Celery stalks 2small (chopped)

In a frying pan over low heat,melt the butter. Add the green onions and celery. Cover and cook ,stirring occasionally for about 10min till soft. Remove and allow to cool.

Saltine crackers 6 (crushed)
Dry musttard 1 tablespoon ( I used hot mustard as that is what I had on hand)
Hot pepper sauce 1 teaspoon
Worcestershire sauce 2 teaspoons
Eggs 2 well beaten
Mayonnaise 1/4 cup
Fresh parsley 3 tablespoon finely chopped
Crabmeat 1 lb cooked ( I used canned frozen crab meat bought from
Costco, save some time and energy)
Salt and pepper To taste

To the cooled onion-celery mixture, add the above ingredients.

Toasted bread crumbs About 2 cups

If the mixture is too wet to hold its shape, add enough bread crumbs,about 1/2 cup pr as needed to absorb the moisture. Shape the mixture into 6 cakes. Place the remaining bread crumbs in a shallow dish . Dredge the cakes lightly in the crumbs.

Vegetable oil To fry About 4 tablespoon

In a frying pan over medium heat, warm 2 tablespoon of the vegetable oil. Add half of the crab cakes and saute, turning once, until golden brown, about 3 minutes on each side.Transfer to paper towels to drain.

Serve with remoulade sauce.

The crab cakes turned out perfect and was delicious. I had used frozen crab meat from Costco instead of making fresh crab meat at home. Otherwise I followed the recipe as it is. This was by far the best crab cakes ever. Overall the dinner was a success.

The following picture is an omelette I made the next day with a filling of the above crab cake mixture.

7 responses »

  1. If you think that recipe would make the best crabcake you ever had, I pity whatever it was you had been eating before. I’m also a bit confused about your rationale for using the “canned” versus, “making crabmeat” at home. The only difference in the two is that canned crabmeat takes on the stinky smell, texture, and taste caused by the pasteurization process. If that is your photograph, I’d like to ask, was there a reason for burning them all? You like that flavor, I suspect.
    Perfect crabcakes, I think not!

  2. Pingback: discount auto insurance

  3. Pingback: pokerium com

Leave a Reply

