Treasures from home

Standard

vanilla pod.jpg

Had a lot of catching up to do after my vacation. It was a very hectic 3 weeks but time well spent. Got to eat food cooked by someone other than me and S and it was such a bliss! Havent cooked anything so far to blog about..so I thought I might share with you some of the stuff that accompanied me from India.

First and foremost the star of the show is homegrown vanilla bean. For the first time in my life I saw how a vanilla plant looks like, certainly not what I imagined. It is a climber and has long vines that needs to be supported. Hope to write more about vanilla in a seperate post.
Then I brought this clay pot called ‘chatti’ in Malayalam. I am proud of my packing skills that I was able to bring this over intact. This is excellent for making fish curry.

chatti.jpg

Then I brought a filter coffee maker. Dont really know how to use it…could use some help here.Also there are loads of plantain and jackfruit chips…

3 responses »

  1. Saw your comment in Indira’s and realised that you were back. Welcome! ๐Ÿ™‚

    I would love to see some pictures of Kerala too, if you have them.

    Can you tell me where you got the Vanilla beans? How much was it? Didnt know that we could get Vanilla bean in India.

    Looking forward to recipes cooked in the ‘chatti’. Same word in Tamil. I would love to have one here. I will try to bring one with me, i guess. ๐Ÿ™‚

    -Mathy

  2. Thanks Mathy..I didnt take much pics when I went to India as I had only a few weeks and no free time to snap away.
    The vanilla beans are home grown and from my parents. They are into organic farming (very small scale) and all that good stuff after their retirement. I am missing out on all the good produce from their labour..

Leave a Reply

