Flan fares well II

Standard

I had written a post on flan long time ago. Back then I didnt have a picture to go with it..I think I ate the flan before I could take a pic. So here is a part II of it with a picture.

ff.jpg
Some minor changes I made this time around were to use 4 egg yolks and 2 whole eggs,instead of the 6 egg yolks and it worked fine. It is a cholesterol laden dish but for once in a while, I guess it will be okay. Plus dont eat more than one slice. This dish keeps well in the fridge for few days.

Sonali of Spicehut asked in her comment as to what a caramelised mold is. It is a mold/ pan with caramel at the bottom of it.

This is a short description of the process in pics..

Take about 3/4 cup sugar in a pan and let it melt over low medium heat. If you stir it, it tends to clump. Sojust let the sugar start to melt, and then use a spoon to stir it till it turns to a uniform golden brown color .

flan55.jpg sugar1.jpg
You need to watch the caramel very carefully as it can get burnt very easily. Once the desired color is reached, pour it into the flan mold and using a kitchen towel, hold the mold and rotate it quickly so that the caramel spreads evenly on the bottom and sides. If you stop and think, the caramel gets hard and sticks to the bottom of the mold.

sugar4.jpg sugar3.jpg
Then pour the flan mixture and keep it in a larger pan with about an inch of water or so and bake. Simple,eh?

flan ff.jpg

12 responses »

  1. hi
    should i call you gini or ann i am a very new blogger and your blog is one of the blog that i regularly read and like . i see warmth and sincerity in your writing which i like a lot.
    the way you write i feel you are talking to me.
    regarding cholesterol that you always mention . do you want certain tips from a book that i have.i will be happy to give you the details regarding low cholesterol food etc

     

    Thank you for all that great things you said about my blog..Which book is that? Any tips are always welcome! 

  2. sorry i did not mention the flan looks so yummy…
    its my hubby’s favorite sweet how did you take such a lovely snap

    Thanks mahek..I used the macro feature on the camera. 

  3. 🙂 Wow! Looks delicious!

    I understand the cholestrol part, but I guess, a single slice, once in a rare while, can’t do much harm.

    Yeah Kay…I agree. everything in moderation,right?

  4. Hi gini,
    I think my mom also prepares something like this..But she call it caramel custard..I haven’t tried preparing that..And i think she uses gelatin & all..
    Thanks for ur recipe..now i can do it without making an India call..:)

    Hi Annita..Yeah my mother also makes something similar, but use regular milk, and no gelatin. We used to steam it rather than place it in the oven,when in Kerala. It turns out more perfect when I put it in the oven.

  5. Looks irresistable! Wonderful picture. Too bad I don’t have an oven. Now this image has me drooling endlessly 😛

    Thanks Sury..I think this would work if it is steamed and then cooled in the refrigerator. When in India, we used to steam it. Sometimes when coming out of the steamer it looks curdled, but after a few hours in the refrigerator it is good to go.

  6. You are welcome Sonali.

    Saffron Hut,I really like anything with green in it. The only problem is that some pics stick out of the frame, but I kinda like it. It is too much work to resize them now.

  7. Pingback: Pistachio Flan and Self Reflections : Live To Eat

Leave a Reply

