A simple Kerala meal

Standard

kfood.JPG

Clockwise from left: Tomato chaaru curry, vanpayar mezhukupuratti, green tomato thoran.

After being on vacation for about a week, we were craving some home cooked food. Owing to delayed flights, we reached home at 3am instead of 9p.m. Las Vegas had some amazing restaurants and we had some great food. But after a week of eating out, it was time for a simple home cooked meal.
Satish had to go to work in the morning. I vaguely remember him leaving, and I was off to sleep again. It was about noon when I finally woke up. I had some toast and then started making some Kerala food. I made a thoran ( dish with shredded coconut), a mezhukkupuratti( curry sauteed in oil) , and a chaaru kari ( curry with gravy). It has been a while since I made 3 dishes to go with rice. I loved the first 2 dishes, but the chaaru kari was not that great. I am hoping that it is going to taste better tomorrow.

kerala-food.JPG

13 responses »

  1. Pri, Thanks for visiting. I use the frozen grated coconut that is available in Indian grocery stores. They are almost as good as the real thing. I like the ‘Daily Delight’ brand better than most. I don’t even dare try thoran with dessicated coconut. I am sure it doesn’t taste the same.

    Trupti, It was indeed very comforting. Home cooked food is the best, but making it happen is the hard part.

  2. Ur kerala meal looks so tasty.
    Once I tried desiccated cocunut for “carrot kobbari koru”(an Andhra syle dish), it did not came out well.
    I do not know whose fault was that,..was that me who spoiled the dish or the desiccated coconut.

  3. Bhargavi, I wouldn’t try dessicated coconut in any Indian curry. I think it is best suited to add to cookies and sweets. I think the fresh frozen coconut is your best option. It tastes ‘almost’ like the original.

  4. Thanks Meena. I think it was the mezhukkupuratti that was the star of the show. It came out just right. I usually have a hard time getting the beans to be the right texture but it turned out perfect.

  5. Gini, when we spent a week in Cape cod we came back with that same yearning for nadan food. Nothing beats a good rice meal after a journey , right?

  6. Hi giniann,
    I liked the pix of ur Kerala meal… i was looking for the recipes to make the 3 items… could not find it.Are there pix only?

  7. ഞാനും ഈ ബ്ലോഗിന്റെ സ്ഥിരം സന്ദര്‍ശകയാണ്‌

    എനിക്ക്‌ ഈ ബ്ലോഗ്‌ വളരെ ഇഷ്ടപ്പെട്ടതാണ്‌. വളരെയധികം രുചിയുള്ള പാചകക്കുറിപ്പുകല്‍ ഇവിടെയുണ്ട്‌.

    ഞങ്ങള്‍ ഈയിടെ ഒരു “മലയാളം പാചകക്കുറിപ്പുകളുടെ” ഒരു വെബ്‌ സൈറ്റ്‌ തുടങ്ങി.

    സൗകര്യം പോലെ അവിടം സന്ദര്‍ശിക്കുക.

    ഞങ്ങളുടെ വിലാസം
    http://www.recipeskerala.com

    നിങ്ങള്‍ക്കിഷ്ടപ്പെട്ട വിഭവങ്ങളുമായി ഞങ്ങള്‍ അവിടെ കാത്തിരിക്കുന്നുണ്ട്‌

    വരുമല്ലോ ??…. ഞങ്ങള്‍ കാത്തിരിക്കും

Leave a Reply

