Thanksgiving ideas

Standard

I will be working on Thanksgiving day. So we have decided to cook on Friday. Shopping gives me a headache, and so I have no regrets on missing out on the bargains and staying at home and cooking a meal. What are your plans?

I have no solid plans yet but here is a list of some inspirations. I am hoping to create an Indian inspired meal with all the traditional ingredients. I might have to skip the turkey as it might be too much for the two of us.

Green beans

Roasted potatoes

Apple and cranberry chutney

Roast chicken malabar style

Sweet potato dessert

Strawberry cream cheese torte

Pumpkin pie

Pumpkin cupcakes

10 responses »

  1. Asha, come over and we will look at the recipes together. I could use some help:)) No food here, only ideas.

    Taking it easy is really a hard thing to do, but I am trying. Waiting to see your Thanksgiving menu. I am sure it would be long enough to make Martha Stewart run for cover:)

  2. Thanks Monica. Hope to learn more Manipuri recipes from you.

    Lakshmi, thanks. Hope you had a great Thanksgiving.

    Rooma, we were really tired after all the cooking. We had dinner and went straight to bed. Hardly took any pics.

  3. I thought to indianize my thanksgiving cooking too…I thought maybe I would make turkey with tandoori masala, potato podimas instead of mashed potatoes, cranberry chutney, cumin rice etc. etc. But other members in the family didn’t support..they said they wanted traditional southern dinner. Hmmm..
    Your menu sounds good.

  4. After indianizing my thanksgiving, I think I was craving for the ‘real’ deal. I think your family might have been right. I loved the chutney and all the desserts were great. But I didn’t like the Indian version of the turkey much. I think it might have been the turkey. All past thanksgivings I have made lamb chops and they were so much better.

  5. Hi everybody, it is Thanksgiving Day! I’m enjoying my extra day off, and I am planning to doing something fun that will probably involve a moto trip and seeing something new in Lakes of the Four Seasons I haven’t seen yet.
    You write new post at Thanksgiving?

Leave a Reply

