Madakku saan…Kerala breakfast

Standard

Rasoi-big.81.jpg

madakkusaan.jpg

Madakku saan was one of my favorite breakfast items when growing up. This was one of the most requested items at our home . In addition to being served as breakfast, it can also be served as an evening snack. Coming home hungry after school, these were devoured with great joy. So when Meena of Hooked on Heat was holding breakfast theme for her ‘From my Rasoi’ event I couldnt think of anything better..The beauty of this dish is that it can be preparedd fast and is quite tasty.
List of ingredients
All purpose flour 3/4 cup
Water enough to make thin batter
Salt
Coconut grated 3/4 cup
Sugar 1 tablespoon ( you could add more depending on your level of sweetness)
Cardamom 1 crushed
Crushed cumin 1/4 teaspoon
Method
Make a batter of water and all purpose flour. The consistency should be such that it can be made into a crepe. Add salt to taste to this batter.

Mix together coconut,sugar, crushed cardamom and crushed jeera seeds.

crushing-spices.jpg

madakku-saan3.jpg

Make a crepe using the batter. It is hard to describe what to do after this. So hopefully the pictures will help.

madakku-saan2.jpg

Pour the batter into the shape of a crepe or dosa. Then you wait for about a minute or so while the top looks cooked.

madakku-saan-2.jpg

Then you flip it over and put the stuffing on one half side of the crepe.

madakku-saan-1.jpg

Fold the other side over the filling, and seal the edges with the spatula..just press the ends together real hard.
Then serve hot.

madakku-saan.jpg

Simple yet delicious

33 responses »

  1. Is it just me or is this new site doing wierd things to the photos…like streching them out and making them super-closeup so all detail is blurred.

    It’s all a bit wacky. Love the postings (as always) but finding this very hard to read.

  2. This is how they look, Wow. What a difference a browser makes.:)

    Firefox – images looks great, not weird like in IE. But taking lot of time to download. Reducing the resolution may help, I think.

    I like this recipe, Gina. Definitely going to try it. Thanks for sharing, Gina.
    One doubt though, should I cook fresh grated coconut with sugar at first or not necessary (for an authentic recipe)?

  3. Hi Indira…finally got it all figured out. Looks like the pics can be viewed on IE and Firefox now.
    And regarding the coconut you dont cook the coconut. Just add the sugar to freshly grated coconut and use it as the filling. It gets slightly cooked on the stove and thats all you need.

  4. you know what.. i saw madakku saan photos and here in my lab an aroma spread, thought it was from this page and am imagining but someone was eating something over here. i felt hungry, nostalgic n crying ngee ngee..

    the pics are working ok for me.

  5. Though I grew up in a neighboring state(TN) and love keralite food, I’ve never heard of this Keralite dish so far. Looks so yummy!

    Gini, did you try your coffee filter yet?

    Btw, I added you to my fav. blog listing so that I can visit you often.

  6. Hi Rocksea Hope you got over your nostalgia and actually cooked some madakku saan 🙂

    Kay I dont think this is the most popular of breakfasts in Kerala..u dont see it in restaurants.

    And the coffee filter I have one more question, What coffee powder can you use? Can you use colombian coffee?

    Thanks Shammy..

  7. I love idiappam. I usually buy the dried ones and cook them in boiling water. But I remember how fresh homemade ones are from what I have had in India. Great pics!

  8. Oh! I have no clue… I think you can use any coffee powder that is not the instant/expresso kind and also, one that doesnt have chocolate/anything else mixed into it.

    I use to love filter coffee, but cant drink it anymore because of migraine problems!

  9. Gini, these look amazing! I can’t think of a better way to start the day. I so regret not having visited Kerala when my wife and I went to India 10 years ago. Especially when I see all the lovely dishes that you are cooking. Your photos look great in my Firefox browser, by the way (why does anyone still bother using IE?). I especially like the close ups.

  10. Pingback: Hooked on Heat » From my Rasoi (Breakfast) - The Showdown…

  11. am working in dubai international hotel whichis in dubaiairport as an indian chef..and i do indian and continental and i would like to know about the kerala food more in detail….
    thanks

  12. Pingback: #199 Its here Its here!!! | My Blog

Leave a comment