Shrikhand for SHF #16

Standard

for blog.jpg
I went over to IMBB to see whats happening in the blogworld and then I saw it…SHF is tomorrow. And I hardly had any time to come up with anything, that is, until I ran to my pantry. Aphrodisiacs..hmmm. When I first read about the theme I had the glorious idea of making a dessert pizza with bananas, strawberries, chocolate…..but alas I had forgotten all about it till now. So I went to the pantry and got out cardamoms and honey. The list of aphrodisiac ingredients in my pantry stops there. I needed to think of something fast using these two ingredients and google led me to shrikhand. The original recipe can be found here
I grew up in India and had never had this dessert. Heard of it, but never had it. But now SHF made me discover this amazing stuff. See food blogging is good!

Few ingredients..superb results!

Ingredients

Plain yogurt 2 cups ( Drain the yogurt in a cheesecloth. Dont squeeze or anything..just let it hang in the cheese cloth and have a bowl below to catch the fluid that comes out of it. I put the cheese cloth in a sieve, poured the yogurt and let it sit on a bowl). This might take couple of hours. Keep it in the refrigerator.

Saffron a few threads (5-6)
Milk 1 tbsp
Heat the milk and add the saffron to it. Let sit for a few minutes.

Honey 3tbsp( Add more if you like more sweetness)

Cardamom 2 crushed

Pistachios and almonds for garnish

Method

This couldnt get any easier.

Take the yogurt, saffron, milk, honey, crushed cardamom and mix well.

Pour into serving cups…Garnish with chopped almonds and pistachios.

This post originally written on Feb 9th and pics uploaded Feb 10th…..

Tag SHF16

6 responses »

  1. I read all your fantastic recipes and dream of all those wonderful dishes. Sathees (did I spell it right?) is a lucky, lucky guy. Remind him that once in a while 😉

  2. Thanks Jennifer..It was short notice but this was such a simple dish. Waiting for the wrapup..

    Yuyutsu ..Dont worry. Satish is constantly reminded how lucky he is 🙂

  3. Hi …
    I dont know if I can pull such simple,elegant dishes in matter of minutes…….I would lov to giv ur recipe a try.

    Sure you can..Would love to know how it turned out? 

  4. Hi Giniann, The yogurt looks delish! And especially with the cardamom, ‘need to try. I usually resort to Greek yogurt, which by the looks seems to be a bit more compact, probably no need to drain it? It’s early enough, I think I’m going to make this for breakfast…thanks for sharing!
    Thanks for visiting Oliver..Did you make it? Greek yogurt is new to me? Is the technique for making that yogurt different? 

  5. Pingback: Very Berry Shrikhand · Bali Food Recipes & World Most Famous Recipes

Leave a comment