Ending a craving

Standard

Last month we went to the Ikea store in New Haven. Afterwards we were really hungry and we felt like Indian food. So we left the store and located the address of a nearby Indian restaurant. When we located the restaurant, there was no parking in sight and we had to park a few streets further. We decided to check out the restaurants in that neighborhood and that is when we found this diner looking restaurant. It was a diner turned into a Indian restaurant and for a moment I felt like I was back in Delhi at a wayside diner. The food was great and being a college town, it was filled with many students. I had methi parantha and shrimp vindaloo that day. It was a very satisfying meal and that doesnt happen to me often in Indian restaurants.

This post is my attempt to make the methi parantha at home. A google search located this recipe for me. Another dish I wanted to tackle was Saffron Hut‘s Sour creamwale baingan. This is my third attempt at cooking eggplants from cooking blogs. (First and second attempt) For a person who used eggplants only for cooking sambhar, eggplants are going to be a regular in my kitchen.

Firstly I made the dough.

a.jpg
Then I tackled the methi. I plucked out some leaves from methi and mixed it with some salt. That was my filling.

c.jpg
Take 1

Rolled out the dough. Put the filling in centre. Made it into a ball. As I was making it into a ball, every thing started leaking from the sides. I managed to save it by sprinkling some flour and it turned out ok.

d.jpg e.jpg
Take 2

Roll out the dough very lightly. Put some filling in centre. Reshape into a ball. Roll out into a thick parantha. This seemed to hold the filling inside, without spilling all over.

f.jpg

g.jpg

h.jpg
Take 3

Just mixed the leaves with the doughball and make the parantha. Seemed easy enough.

i.jpg ar.jpg

I would love to hear from you if you know the way to make methi parantha. I want to learn how to make this the way it is supposed to.

After my experiments and cooking, it was a very satisfying lunch for me with methi paranths and SH’s sourcream baingan.

aa.jpg

18 responses »

  1. What a nice combo.
    The way I usually make methi paratha is I mix the methi leaves in the dry flour and then add water to make a dough. Saves me sometime.:):)

  2. Hi guys..From all the ways I tried I think it is better and easier to mix the methi leaves in the dry flour. Agree with you on that Santhi. I made it this way yesterday and worked wonderful.

    Priya..hope to answer the tag pretty soon.

    SH..looks like dahiwala baingan is a regular at many homes. Looks like you started a trend.

  3. Very nice pictures.you have done a great job.It will be interesting for beginners that they will never forget.Your flowers took me to celestial feelings.

  4. try this and see

    add methi, a tablespoon or two of curd, ginger-garlic-greenChilli paste, jeera(cumin) powder and salt to the wheat flour. instead of water, use oil to bind/knead the dough.

  5. Thank you Ramya.

    J, I sure will try it..I think I will like the combo. Not sure about using oil instead of water…doesnt sound too healthy. Thanks for the suggestion.

  6. Kani kaanum neram kamala netrante niramekum manja thukil , kanaga kingini valakal mothiram aninju kananam bhagavane – Vishu Ashamsagal to u and ur family

  7. hello. i saw your receipie of methi paratha. you can try this also. make a paratha dough as usual. chop the methi finely. fry the leaves in a teaspoon of oil with ginger garlic asafatodia turmeric powder chilli powder bit of sugar and green chillies grind them into a paste and mix. itwith the dough and make parathas. you can add besan flour also with the wheat flour and make a dough.try it and see if you like it.subadra

  8. How about dried methi leaves, do they taste same way? I was looking for fresh methi in the market but I could not find. I want to use broccoli in Indian style cooking do anyone have a recipe to suggest.

Leave a comment