Aloo methi: Cooking from food blogs 2

Standard

a.jpg
I chanced upon this post by deccanheffalump, and after reading the story that went with it, I couldn't wait to try it. Now I have heard,read and seen aloo methi but never made it. But something in this post made me want to try the recipe. I just did, and the results were superb. I need to learn simple, satisfying recipes like this which don't take a ton of time but is loaded with flavor and goodness.

Original recipe click here

Ghee 1 tablesppon and oil 2 tbsp

Baby red potatoes or any kind 4 small, diced with skins on.
Shallot 1,Garlic one clove and a very tiny piece of ginger, all roughly chopped(optional)

A pinch of jeera seeds

Methi leaves picked from one bunch of methi, and chopped fine.

A pinch of turmeric and 1/3 heaped tsp. of hot chilly powder.

A pinch of sugar and salt to taste
Method
To a hot pan, add the ghee and oil. Add the diced potatoes and fry till golden on all sides. Remove from pan. There will be some oil-ghee mixture left in the pan. To this add the jeera. When the seeds start to splutter, add shallos,ginger and garlic. Fry for about a minute, then add the methi leaves. Add sugar, salt, chilly and turmeric powder and stir well to combine. When the methi leaves start wilting, add the potatoes and stir. Remove and serve warm. I made this at 4 in the evening, and didnot have anything to eat this with. So I had it in a sandwich, and tasted pretty good.

This ingredient list is good for one meal for two hungry people.

22 responses »

  1. Shilpa..Try it. Let me know if you do.

    LG..the methi leaves are bitter. But they are the likeable kind. I dont really like bitter stuff, but this is an exception. I guess if you like ‘cheera’, you will like this too. Methi was introduced into my kitchen only a few months ago, but it is kind of becoming a regular.

  2. hI GINI,
    OH NEW POST.
    i was seeing daily but nothing is appearing except sun through a coconut tree branch.That pic is reall y cool.
    Yeah,iam talking about your previous recipe(Mango chat) pic
    ALOO Methi is nice.i have to try it.
    Vineela

  3. Hi Vineela..Thanks very much for the comments about my pic. Aloo methi is really nice..not really good as left overs, as I found out today. Eat it fresh and hot from the stove.

  4. Tanuja..looks and tastes great.

    Lakshmi, is frozen methi close to the real thing? I have seen it at grocery stores but always been reluctant to buy it. Do you recommend it.

  5. Hello! I am about to try your flan recipe. You mentioned 2 cans of evap. milk. Could you please tell me how many oz cans they are? I assume you meant the regular sized cans. But what I have is small 5 oz cans. So I would like to substitute properly. Please let me know. Thanks in advance.

  6. Pingback: Salt and Pepper. » Blog Archive » Green Blog Project - Fish with baby methi (fenugreek) leaves

  7. That is a beautiful photo, I love the methi leaves which we call fenugreek greens here in the U.S. I just posted a photo of the methi seedlings that I grow aeroponically in my kitchen and hope you don’t mind if I put a link to your photo next to mine.

  8. i was browsing by last night hunting for something different for dinner……and i got this,it turned out wonderful…..my hubby luved it so much that we don’t even have left overs …..lol………thankx a ton…..i’m just 3months old in the kitchen and i’m luving it…i do hv my failures but thats the stepping stone to success .i luv ur blogs and yes i have tried a couple of them ,had real fun making them and my hubby liked eating them too…i wanted to try ur deccan brinjal but cann’t find it in the Indian store out here….u tc and keep up ur gr8 work…

Leave a comment