Lamb chops with mint yogurt sauce- recipe

Standard

Creating a beautiful plate of food is immensely satisfying for the eyes and mind. On a weekend day, we decided to take our dining at home to a fancier level and that is how this dish was born.

Lamb chops are always elegant and is one of the easiest meats to cook. The strong flavor of the lamb can stand up to strong flavorings. This recipe for lamb chops is from the cookbook: Gourmet Meals in Minutes. The beautiful picture of the lamb chops on its cover is what made me buy the book.

abs.jpg
Recipe

Mint yogurt ( recipe from Starchefs, Chef Thomas John at Mantra, Boston)

1 cup fresh mint leaves, well rinsed and tightly packed

1 cup cilantro leaves, as above

2 cloves garlic

1/4 cup onion, chopped

salt, to taste

1/4 cup raw mango, pitted and sliced

2 Tablespoons fresh lime juice

1/2 cup plain yogurt

Blend all ingredients in a blender. I used only half of the above measurements for two people.

Lamb chops( Broiled)

8 lamb chops

3 tablespoon reduced-sodium soy sauce

1 tablespoon each of Dijon mustard, Worcestershire sauce, veg.oil and chopped rosemary.
Freshly ground black pepper half tsp or more to taste

Thyme 2 tsp.chopped ( I used a tsp. of dried thyme) – optional

Salt and pepper to taste

Method

Combine soysauce, mustard, Wostershire sauce, veg. oil, pepper, rosemary, thyme into a ziplock bag. Add the lamb. After squeezing the air out, seal the bag and turn to coat the lamb with the marinade. Refrigerate for 30 min.

Preheat the broiler. Remove the chops from the marinade. Brush off excess marinade off the bones or else it burns under the broiler. Season the chops with salt and pepper.

Broil the chops 5 inches from the heat until done. 4 min on each side for medium , and about 6-7 min for well done. Remove and cool for a few min and then plate. If desired, you can pan fry the chops before putting under the broiler.

To plate

Create a base using the mint yogurt. Place 2 lamb chops in an intercrossing pattern or side by side as seen in the picture.

Use a tuna can with top and bottom removed. Fill the rice into this to plate rice in a circular shape. If you have another side dish, place it on the side of the lamb chops.

17 responses »

  1. Wow-your chops look great. I’m going to make your sauce this weekend-we usually use a mint chutney sauce that is so hot you need to drink wine just to take the sting out.

  2. Gini, I haven’t cooked lamb chops yet. This sounds very delicious and the chops look great. Are those potatoes on the side? How did you cook those?

  3. Gini my husband loves lamb chops so this recipe goes at the top of my to do list. I am intrigued by the use of soy sauce and thyme in the same marinade. Thanks for the recipe. Do you buy chops anywhere in particular?

  4. Gini, another question. This is about serving potatoes and rice in the same meal. Most of my American friends decline my offer for pulao or any other kind of rice when they are serving potatoes (usually mashed potatoes). They love my pulao, which is why I ask. This has happened so often to me that I now ask if they are going to serve potatoes before mentioning rice in the same breath.

    We, on the other hand, love to have rice and dal or khichdi with any kind of potato side. Is it that we, as Indians, are not so conscious about the carbs:proteins ratio in the meal?

  5. Ellen, did you make it? The mango kind of balances the heat in this dish.

    You are welcome Nabeela.

    Manisha..posted about how I made the potatoes. And regarding the other question, I did not think about the carb protein ratio at all…Rice and potatoes are both carbs for sure, but they bring different tastes and textures to the table, I think. The original plan was to make some sauteed spinach but ended up making spinach rice.

    Tony..I do know that you love mutton.

    Ashwini, I usually buy Australian lamb chops from Costco. They are expensive but totally worth it.

  6. I made this last night and the mint yogurt recipe is great. The meal turned out good as well, however had trouble making the rice hold its shape. I used the tuna can as instructed but it didn’t really work. Is there a special type of rice that sticks better pehaps?

  7. Just tried the mint yogurt to accompany our costco australian lamb chops. It was really delicious and also so easy! Only a cutting board, knife and blender to clean. What more can you ask for (other than lamb chops more often)? The mango was good for the taste and texture. This recipe will become a favorite. Thanks.

  8. hi, gini thats an awesome blog you have going there, I am one of the multitudes of people who read these blogs to put together a decent meal everyday. The Lamb chops look absolutely divine. Unfortunately I have restricted myself to Indian cooking. The farthest I have gone is pasta, but your recipe looks easy and delicious so I have decided to break the shackles and test myself. So here is the amateur question…. Did you broil the lamb chops before marination as well?
    Thats it.. 🙂
    thanks

  9. Your recipe is fantastic! My picky husband (who doesnt even like lamb) loved it. Caution though — its terrible for the breath, with all the raw garlic and onion. Perhaps if the garlic and onion were pureed then added to the marinade they would be cooked and thus wouldnt be quite so pungent? In any event, great job and thanks!

  10. As a first year culinary student, i find myself becoming more and more curious about food. I was loooking for a good lamb recipe and i ran into this and it looks awesome and i cant wait to make it!

  11. Pingback: Lamb Chops with Mint Yogurt Sauce | Cooking in Sens

Leave a comment