Tale of two pestos

Standard

parsley.jpg

Parsley leaves and flower
Althouth we make pasta quite often, we have never made pesto before. Pasta and pesto sound so close, no wonder they are made for each other. I had some parsley growing crazy in my garden and some of them had started to flower which meant that if I dont act quickly, they would all be gone and not edible anymore. So we had to act fast. Meanwhile Satish had been craving for pasta for some time. And finally it seemed to be the best possible time for some ‘pasta with pesto’.

I just read the rules of herb blogging and it requires you to write somehting about the herb. Makes sense, but I hardly know anything about parsley except that it is used in Italian and Meditteranean cooking, and also have two forms- the curly one and the flat leaf one. The ones I grew were flat leaf . They hardly require any special growing conditions. I never watered them regularly, they just grew on rain water. I definitely had to search for more info on this herb and this is what I found.

Parsley is the world’s most popular herb. It derives its name from the Greek word meaning “rock celery” (parsley is a relative to celery). It is a biennial plant that will return to the garden year after year once it is established.Parsley is among a small number of foods that contain any measurable amount of oxalates, naturally-occurring substances found in plants, animals, and human beings. When oxalates become too concentrated in body fluids, they can crystallize and cause health problems. For this reason, individuals with already existing and untreated kidney or gallbladder problems may want to avoid eating parsley.(Info from here.)

One of the blog posts in The Traveler’s Lunchbox some time ago had been on pestos, and it had somehow stuck to my brain. So I found the recipe, but unfortunately it did not have a recipe for parsely pesto but it did have one for a sundried tomato pesto (Pesto Rosso). It looked so fab that we had to try that out. Now as for the parsley, this recipe came to my aid.

pesto.jpg

 

Parsley Pesto Ingredients( I did not measure any ingredients, just combined them all and tasted it to balance all the ingredients.)Parsley, pine nuts, parmesan grated, salt, garlic and extravirgin olive oil.
Now we all know linguini is cooked as it is, I mean in its all entire form (not broken).But recently we had eaten at an Indo Chinese restaurant in NY City and I had loved the hakka noodles which looked like linguini broken into small pieces. So that is what I did with the linguini…broke it into 3 parts.

two-pestos.jpg

 

Linguini with two pestos– sundried tomato pesto and parsley pesto.

Made a batch of each pesto and mixed it with pasta. We were very satisfied with both pestos. The remaining pesto was used as a sandwich filler. We still had leftover pesto which we had with some bread and cheese.

 

 

bb.jpg

This is my entry for Weekend Herb Blogging held by our own Bachelor Boy.

Tagged , .

20 responses »

  1. Gini, I saw your post over at Archana’s blog about mint. if you’re going to plant mint, do it in a container. It’s quite invasive once it has its grips on your soil. I love mint. I’m crazy about mint. In my food though. Not my garden. It’s everywhere. It’s roots travel for several feet under the plastic cover on my flower beds (which is supposed to stop weeds from growing) and then their seemingly innocent heads pop up wherever they can find some light. And, it’s perennial. So when you think you’ve got it under control, it shows up the next year in another spot. It is currently threatening to take over my lawn and I don’t want to spray it with weed killer.

  2. love these…I make them all the time especially when guest say no Indian food. I normally make pasta,garlic bread and soup..always a success. Great pictures…but the new thing I learnt is using almonds for the sun dried tomato pesto

  3. Yeah Annita..Pesto is so simple to make and tastes so good. We loved both pestos. Sandwiches with pesto filling were so good.

    Thanks Manisha.

    Yes Gustad, It rocks!!

    SXhankari Pasta, soup and garlic bread is as a winner combo. Can’t really go wrong with that. What is your favorite pesto? The other good thing about pesto is the ‘no cook part’, just a whip in the blender and dinner is ready. Perfect for summer.

  4. Hi Giniann, I have a HUGE request. Can you please please please, pretty please e-mail me the carrot pickle recipe…even approximate measures will do. I really need it. I have a HUGE bag of carrots waiting at home that I don’t want to go bad. And your pickle looks absolutely delicious! My email id is mamanprincess@yahoo.com…thanks!

  5. Luv2cook, What pesto did you make? Will be looking out for the pesto post.

    MadMan, last year we grew basil but never made pesto from it. This year we had parsley..and so the parsley pesto. Will try basil pesto soon now that we have found out how easy it is. One question though, is there any difference in the basil you use in Asian cooking and the Italian version?

    Shaheen, I used the ones from the jar. Making my own sun dried tomatoes is out of my league. We were drooling at all the yummy food at your blog. I wish I had more hours to try to cook all that delicious food. At each post we were like”Yeah, wow! We should make that! I have never been to a Muslim wedding and I have always fantasized about the Kozhikode Biryani. I have googled so many times for it but never found any till now. I am so glad you are blogging about all those amazing food.

  6. Love the idea of parsley pesto. I’ll have to try making it since I do have both kinds of parsley in my garden. I also read somewhere recently about making pesto from oregano, which I thought also sounded interesting. Thanks for providing some info about the parsley. We’re not that strict on the rules, but I like it when people can learn something new from this event.

  7. Thanks Inji..by the way you going away for vacation or just taking a break?

    Thanks Coffeepot.

    Kalyn, lucky you! Two kinds of parsleys,heh? Since you are growing both kinds, which one do you think has more flavor?

    Gattina, my first time seeing parsley flowers too. The pasta was really delicious, and it hardly took any time to make it.

  8. Oh those parsley flowers are so so pretty Gini. I am very fond of basil pesto myself but now that I read about it I am sure I will like parsley too coz the leaf has such a nice flavor.

  9. Hi Gini, just wanted to say I uploaded the carrot pickle picture on my blog…can go over and check it now 🙂
    And thanks again for the recipe…we’ve already finished half of it…and I made it with more than a pound of carrots!

  10. Pingback: Pesto

  11. Pingback: Pursuit of Fiber- Blog Archive » Does salmon really need that pretty sprig of parsley?

Leave a comment