20 responses »

  1. Thank you very much for the ads gini.. Dont we just want to go back to the good old DD days…Did you check out aayis’ post with a few such songs and a DD cartoon was awwwweeeesome.. ek gilahari that onee. Will get the url and pass it on

  2. Thanks a lot for these ads Gini. How I miss the ads on Indian TV. Did any of you like the Dhara ad, that little boy fleeing home and then coming back for Jalebi ?

  3. good old doordarshan days. nostalgic. it’s funny that i too wrote about an old vicks ad in my post two days back.

    parzaan dastoor in jalebi ad. so cute. then there was this cute little girl who used to say ‘i love you rasna’. another one was baby guddu in colgate. who can forget the dashing shekhar kapoor in digjam? 😉

  4. Anything for you, RP.

    Ramya, I had so much fun digging up all these old lost magic. We were up well into the night finding old ads and old TV music and so on.

    Revathi, I saw the ek lahari song while searching for the ads. It was so much fun listening to all that music.

    Dhara, dhara desh ka dhara…I remember the song very well, but the ad doesn’t come to mind, Sandeepa.

    If only if I could find a link to the egg ad. As a kid, I had egg allergy and any time I saw the ad I couldn’t wait to get over my allergies.

    Shaheen, the post worked : )

    The rasna ads are there on you tube, Reena. Oh yeah, Shekhar Kapoor. My sister was crazy about the ‘Bombay Dyeing’ guy!

    Sia, the ads I like here are the Mac and PC ones, and of course GEICO!!

  5. know what, i just completed a blog on one of those very popular DD ad’s and had been hunting high & low for a video of the original ad, unfortunately still not available…should be posting it this week end!!

    I saw it, Maddy.

  6. THANKS THANKS THANKS A LOT GINI…
    iT BOUGHT BACK OLD MEMORIES , THE JINGLES ITSELF MAKE YOU GO BACK IN TIME . HOW DID YOU GET THEM?
    DO YOU REMEMBER PRITI ZINTA’S FIRST PERK AD , AND THE SURF LALITAJI AD
    THOSE WHERE GOOD TOO PLS PUT THEM UP IF YOU FIND THEM OK…

    You are welcome, Akshata. It was fun revisiting the old favorites. I found them on youtube.
    I remember the surf ad, but not the perk ad. I will forward those to you if I find it.

  7. Gini, a beautiful name for a beautiful person. It is a pleasure meeting you. Thanks for visiting my blog, leaving such kind comments and helping me to discover yours. I do love your pictures. Tomorrow I am going to be back to explore in depth. I have added you to my blog roll and feeds so you will be seeing (hearing a lot from me) 🙂

  8. Thanks for posting the ads..esp,Cadbury’s..brought back those childhood memories..used to die for the Cadbury’s ads and choclates..those ads almost brought tears in my eyes(happy ones, ofcourse)

  9. hey buddy .. gr8 job .. nyways do u have that old collection where many spotsmen featured running with a torch (uesd to show on doordarshan)

Leave a comment