Fresh Squeezed Orange Juice

Standard

fresh-squeezed-orange-juice.jpg

On our trip to Acadia last year, we had breakfast at a really cute place called “Two Cats“. It was a great place, great food and great ambience. You could sit amidst blooming lilacs and down their amazing stuff ( the best pancakes) with some fresh squeezed orange juice. Read another review here.

The place was so good that we couldn’t bear to have breakfast anywhere else during our stay.

oranges.jpg

And after coming home from the trip, I started making my own orange juice for breakfast. When winter came, fresh squeezed orange juice was replaced by piping hot tea. Now that summer is around the corner, it is time to bring fresh squeezed orange juice back.

How to?

I don’t have a juicer. So I just cut the oranges into two. Squeezed the oranges with my hands and using a spoon, added some of the pulp to it. Regulate the pulp content to your liking.

Serve chilled.

fresh-orange-juice.jpg

Notes:

Oranges should be at room temperature to get a good yield of juice.

Submitted for Weekend Breakfast Blogging (brainchild of Nandita) hosted by Padmaja of Spicyandhra.

The theme for this month is Summer Fruits.

18 responses »

  1. ROFL at Bee’s comment.
    Freshly squeezed any juice tastes heavenly – and besides here you know that you can add more fiber (pulp) and surely no sugar! Simple pleasures of life πŸ™‚

  2. Oh bee!! What happens if someone intentionally does it? LOL

    gini, I just had a freshly squeezed grapefruit juice! Nice color and tastes good too. I have a manual citrus juicer. Something that looks like in this picture. Not as pretty as that one though. It is really helpful for squeezing oranges, lemon etc.

  3. Bee, that must have been some experience!

    Nandita, no sugar added is the best part. And I love it with loads of pulp.

    RP, have you seen those wooden things you use to juice oranges. I want to get one of those. If not, the kind you use back home ( the ones made of glass) to squeeze lemons to make narangavellam.

    Here I am trying to write about the wonderful orange juice, and here is Bee making me think of Jayalalitha and orange juice yield : )

  4. Hey, great post! I am amongst the ones who are addicted to orange juice. One question though, can you store the freshly squeezed juice in the refrigirator for atleast one week? Anybody? Experiences? TIA.

    Rofl on bee’s comments. Made my day πŸ™‚

  5. πŸ™‚ I was all excited and thirsty looking at that beautiful OJ picture, and then I got the visual of Jayalalitha sitting on an orange… yeah not the bag, just an orange… I think bee has ruined fresh squeezed orange juice for me FOREVER!!!!!

  6. Thanks, Shilpa. I couldn’t get the word reamer at the moment and hence the term- ‘the wooden thing’. Yeah, I have decided to get a reamer. Looks more rustic than those juicers.

    Lisa, yes dear. I am getting a reamer soon.

    Thanks, Reena. Fresh squeezed OJ and Bee’s jokes–way to healthy living.

    I don’t know, Divya. It will stay for a day or so.

    Anu, I do it with my hands and a spoon as I have no other equipments. Do they hurt? Hmm..not really. I have really strong hands..hehe. Just kidding : )

    Sig, to forget that trauma inflicted by the visual, add 2 ounces of vodka to some OJ. Then make some fresh OJ. Hope that will undo what Bee did to you : )

  7. gini, this one ?

    Bee, you cracked me up! I haven’t had a chance to read all posts in your blog yet. If this is the kind of stuff you write, I am going to your blog right away.

  8. Thank you, Aruna.

    RP, that’s the one. Yeah, Bee is kind of stealing the show here. : ) RP, definitely read all their posts. It is such a delight. But there is a guy called Jai who does most of the work there. Bee is mostly PR : ) Bee, I am only kidding.

  9. gini, try getting a hand juicer.. $10 and definitely worth it , plus u can add as much pulp as each prefers.by the way, tell Bee that rolling the orange on the countertop also works to get more juice. u don’t have to sit on it.:)

Leave a comment